You Be the Judge
3:00 p.m. - 2003-10-20

I have someone working against me. No, I'm not being melodramatic. Here are the facts:

1. If you've looked at my menus, you can see that I pretty much eat the same thing every week. I work part time and am a full time student. This means I'm broke by law, see? So, when I buy my vittles for the week, I have to calculate how long it's gonna last and buy accordingly to manage my meager pocketbook. This person (whom we will call the defendant) working against me eats his way through my vittles as soon as I by them. He replaces them with the high-fat, high-calorie junk food that I was once a slave to.

Still think I'm a looney toon? There's more evidence...

2. My mom has 2 cars. I have a car. So, there are 3 cars, but only 2 license plates (I know, we're fugitives - money is tight right now). So, only 2 cars can be on the road at the same time. This is generally no problem. Usually, since I have to drive the longest distances, I'll drive the new car. The other cars will do for in-town travel. So, I take a car for work, gym, and school. The defendant drops my mom off at work and has a car for, uhmm..nothing(no j-o-b). So, last week, I get up and get prepared for my meeting with my trainer. I walk outside, and the car I need -- the one that can get me to where I need to be -- is not there.

Blah, Blah, Blah...yadda, yadda, yadda...It shows up an hour after my appointment. The defendant explains that everyone mus thave gotten their wires crossed because he thought he was supposed to e back at the time he came back, not an hour earlier.

Ok, even I can chalk one up to miscommunication, right?...

3. Today. I had a training appointment for 2:00. The car showed up at 2:05. It's about a 30-40 minute drive to the gym. This morning I got out of the bed at 8:00 am to make sure everyone knew for sure what time I needed the car. My mom (who is like a counterspell to the defendant 'cause she wants me to succeed), made sure the defendant knew exactly what time the car needed to be at this house. So, I've missed another training session.

4. Saturday, my mom and I were watching the Food Network. We started talking about carrot cake. I was saying how I hadn't had any in years and it would be nice to have a slice. My mom, being who she is, promptly reminded me that I don't have to worry about being tempted because she can't eat it (she's diabetic) and I can't afford it -- so there will not be any in the house. The defendant decided he needed some bread. He came back with a Pepperidge Farms Carrot Cake.

5. All of sudden, the defendant has decided to put candy dishes all over the house. They are all filled with chocolate.

I have someone working against me. But, I'm stronger.

<< | >>